PDA

View Full Version : Regarding the malicious popups...


Wicked
January 27th, 2004, 01:25 AM
Originally posted by GameWinners.com
The problem with that advertiser is a bit more complicated. Someone wrote me an email about it, and this was my reply, reprinted here since it was for the same problem.

We (along with many other sites) are having a problem with that ad. The problem is, it is not an ad on our site. There is an unscrupulous advertiser that is piggy backing that pop-up in a regular banner ad. In fact, I was hit myself with it on our reviews section (which has absolutely no pop-ups). That's how we determined that it is an illegal piggy back on one of the banner advertisers. I've already followed up with the company that is rotating those banners, and they are attempting to track down who the offending party is, and I'm told are going to take legal action against them. That's because we (and our ad company) does not get any sort of payment for that ad, since it was never approved for our site or their ad network. The company responsible for the pop-up is just making money by leeching on to legit ads that are being served. Hopefully they'll find out who is responsible, and put them out of business! Take care, and thanks for writing in.

This is a statement Al gave us after being asked about the recent malicious advertisements.

I'll be sure to keep everyone posted on any updates.

Sabin
January 27th, 2004, 01:54 AM
Are these the ads that keep randomly popping up such as the Verizon Wireless and Freddy vs Jason ads?

Spike
January 27th, 2004, 06:28 AM
i never see pop ups any more, but then again ive got Zone Alarm Pro

Holly
January 27th, 2004, 02:18 PM
No, these are the Spy WIper ads that seem to somehow get through many ad blockers such as Fre Surfer.

Spike
January 27th, 2004, 08:17 PM
o, well i havent seen any ads for a while

LIFE
January 27th, 2004, 08:43 PM
I got those...not anymore anyways. It goes to you by planting spyware on your PC, then it gives the ad through the spyware saying if you buy it it gets rid of spyware, when it only get rids of it's own spyware. I stopped getting those when I got a free spyware cleaner. It works great. Try it, just in case. I might be wrong, but it can help anyways. Here's the link for ad-aware:
Ad-aware (http://aolsvc.downloadcenter.aol.com/filedetail.jsp2?file=22394)

Beyond Da Grave
January 27th, 2004, 08:49 PM
Yeah, ad-aware takes out those damn spywares. Ad-aware will scan your computer and check if there's spyware. Then you can delete those damn things and all's good.

cartman125
January 27th, 2004, 09:27 PM
Originally posted by RPGTeckWhiz4
I got those...not anymore anyways. It goes to you by planting spyware on your PC, then it gives the ad through the spyware saying if you buy it it gets rid of spyware, when it only get rids of it's own spyware. I stopped getting those when I got a free spyware cleaner. It works great. Try it, just in case. I might be wrong, but it can help anyways. Here's the link for ad-aware:
Ad-aware (http://aolsvc.downloadcenter.aol.com/filedetail.jsp2?file=22394)

If it wasn't for that my computer would have been killed with adwares.

I never really see any pop-ups anymore.

shortkut
January 27th, 2004, 10:37 PM
Originally posted by cartman125
If it wasn't for that my computer would have been killed with adwares.

then get a mac, i've never gotten spyware or anysuch thing on my comp :D

Sabin
January 28th, 2004, 03:33 AM
Indeed Maj helped me with that link also...and seince then I have recieved no popups that are illegal:D thanx to Maj

I/O Error
January 29th, 2004, 03:19 PM
Just to let everybody know, the official site for Ad-aware is:

www.lavasoft.de

Superb program. :)

MajBoothroyd
January 31st, 2004, 01:28 AM
Actually it's http://www.LavaSoftUSA.com. I think I recall those guys starting out only on that address, but now they're officially a Dot Com.

I/O Error
January 31st, 2004, 02:25 PM
Actually it's both. The USA site is not really their home site, because the company is still based out of Sweden. They just wanted a mirror with a .com address for the US market, who could be put off by the .de

Mal'Ganis
January 31st, 2004, 04:12 PM
Yeah, this doesen't really matter, but the origional site was www.lavasoft.de like I/O Error said.

Soilwork
February 2nd, 2004, 07:50 PM
Originally posted by shortkut
then get a mac, i've never gotten spyware or anysuch thing on my comp :D

Yeah, no one ever thinks of targeting the few Mac users like us. :D It's almost always aimed at PCs.

Bob
February 3rd, 2004, 07:59 AM
Surfing the web with Mozilla Firebird = win. Not only are there less security loop holes, it blocks all pop up ads. I have never had a pop up ad sneak through in time I've been using it (which was when they first started developing it). Did I mention it's not Microsoft either?
Oh and it's free.
http://www.mozilla.org/products/firebird/

Tom
February 3rd, 2004, 05:38 PM
That's weird. I sent him an E-mail about the ones we had round about late nov/early Dec, at that time, and got an almost identical reply, as I remember.